A-1J “Sock it to ‘Em”

Build Information

  • Manufacturer – Tamiya
  • Scale – 1:48
  • Vehicle – Douglas A-1J Skyraider
  • Markings – 56th Special Operations Wing, 602nd SOS
  • Paint – Gunze Mr. Color, Mr. Paint
  • Aftermarket – Quickboost resin

Quick Review

I’ve always had a love affair with the A-1 Skyraider, and on a bigger scale, attack aircraft in general.  The ‘Sandy’, as they were affectionately known during the Vietnam War, was a god-send to the boots on the ground.  They could get into an area low and slow and stay there for a long time.  Being one of my favorite planes, I had to build it.

Now there aren’t a lot of options for the A-1 when it comes to kits.  In 48th scale Tamiya has released the J and H and Zoukei Mura and Trumpeter own the market in 32nd scale.  There is also the old Monogram quarterscale kit, but it’s so old that I don’t even really consider it.  I went with the Tamiya offering here.

Getting into it, it’s a pretty simple kit, like most of the other Tamiya 48th scale kits.  Cockpit detail is sparce, but most of it isn’t real visible anyway.  The seat, on the other hand, is the most prominent part and can really use some extra detailing.  I added belts and some details, just to give it some life.  One complaint about the kit is the lack of the boot for the rocket ejection apparatus.  The boot was on most late Skyraiders but not included with either the ‘H’ or ‘J’ model releases.  So the Quickboost aftermarket piece was needed.

The build itself was pretty unremarkable.  It has the typical good fit that we all expect from Tamiya plastic and just a little bit of filler was needed at the wing roots.  Even the decals settled pretty well into the surface detail, which we all know is rare with their kit decals. I did add an extra antenna that was on some 56th SOW Skyraiders as well as the main antenna going from the fuselage to the tail with some stretched sprue.

In the end, I was really pleased with the build.  I’ve wanted to build the Skyraider for a while and I feel like I did the old girl justice with the finished product.

Photos

More photos with better resolution at SmugMug

6 thoughts on “A-1J “Sock it to ‘Em”

  1. Very nice build! I’m curious about specifically what paints you used for the SEA camouflage. I’m about to start my first plane with this scheme (F-4 Phantom II) and I’m having trouble finding suitable colors. Have heard good things about Mr. Paint and Mr. Color. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Bob! I used Mr. Color paints on this build. I don’t remember the numbers off the top of my head but I think they were 303, 309, 310, and 311. Mr. Paint paints are outstanding and I would recommend them, even over Mr. Color. The two are my favorite brands to use.

      Like

  2. Very nice build of a cool looking plane. I’m a sucker for anything with cammo. I’m from Alabama so what do you expect! You achieved a great deal of realism with the exhaust, chipping, and overall weathered paint.

    Like

Leave a Reply

